The -U parameter in the Historical Server start-up command can optionally specify a superuser for Historical Server. If this parameter is specified, the superuser is allowed to:
Shut down Historical Server
View or delete any historical data files
If the start-up command does not include the -U parameter, any user may stop Historical Server, but no user has unrestricted access to historical data files.