When Adaptive Server is shut down in a normal manner, the shared memory files are automatically removed. If Adaptive Server crashes or is stopped with the kill -9 command, these files are not deleted. You need read and write permissions on these files to restart Adaptive Server after a crash or a kill -9 command, as Adaptive Server must be able to overwrite the previously created shared memory files.
Please consult the Linux ipcs(1) options for stale shared memory segment removal.
# ipcs -m
# ipcrm shm <shmid>